Rev. J. Mark Bertrand

Rev. J. Mark Bertrand

Rev. J. Mark Bertrand

pastor

Mark has an unusual resume for a pastor. He writes crime novels. "A major crime fiction talent" (The Weekly Standard) in the vein of Michael Connelly, Ian Rankin, and Jo Nesbø, Mark has written three books about Houston homicide detective Roland March, including Back on Murder (2010), Pattern of Wounds (2011), and Nothing to Hide (2012). Mark has an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Houston.

For Mark's reflections on the theological ramifications of the crime genre, read "Writing About Reprobation" in the PCA's denominational magazine ByFaith

Mark has taught on the faculty of Worldview Academy for more than fifteen years, and is the author of Rethinking Worldview: Learning to Think, Live, and Speak in This World (Crossway, 2007), which has been used in church and seminary classrooms as a winsome introduction to worldview thinking.

His writing has appeared in print or online at Comment, Books & Culture, and First Things, but he is perhaps best known as the author of Bible Design Blog, an influential blog on "the physical form of the Good Book," where he has advocated for more than a decade on behalf of better, more reader-friendly Bibles. 

Mark is from Louisiana, but his wife Laurie is a Sioux Falls native. They recently celebrated their twenty-first wedding anniversary.

After serving as a ruling elder in the Presbyterian Church in America, Mark was called as Grace's pastor and ordained as a minister in February 2017.

You can contact Pastor Mark at mark@graceforsiouxfalls.org.